+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Formmail working in Sample and Test but not in Production

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Lightbulb Formmail working in Sample and Test but not in Production

    I'm completely baffled.

    First, I'm running Joomla 2.5 and Script Version 8.29.
    PHP 5.3
    GoDaddy is my Host.


    When I put the sampleform.htm in the root folder it works fine.

    But if I copy and paste the exact same form into a Joomla Custom HTML Module the form sends the Data but I get this as a response from formmail.php for the user as follows:

    An error occurred while processing the form .

    The staff at xxxxxxxxxxxx.com have been alerted to the error .
    xxxxxxxxxxxx.com apologizes for any inconvenience this error may have caused.


    Then in my email...

    I get the form results and the Error Below.


    The following error occurred in FormMail :
    no_valid_recipients
    **********
    Error=The form has an internal error - no valid recipients were specified.

    This is a Base Install. I've verified the Script Info:

    /* Help: http://www.tectite.com/fmdoc/target_email.php */
    $TARGET_EMAIL = array("^jason@simpleeasypc\.com$");


    /* Help: http://www.tectite.com/fmdoc/def_alert.php */
    define("DEF_ALERT","jason@simpleeasypc.com");

    Only Settings I Changed ^^^^^


    Form Data:

    <form action="formmail.php" method="post" name="SampleForm"><input type="hidden" name="env_report" value="REMOTE_HOST,REMOTE_ADDR,HTTP_USER_AGENT,AUTH_TYPE,REMOTE_USER" />

    <input type="hidden" name="recipients" value="jason@simpleeasypc.com" />
    <input type="hidden" name="required" value="EmailAddr:Your email address,FullName:Your name" />
    <input type="hidden" name="subject" value="WTF" />
    <input type="hidden" name="derive_fields" value="email=EmailAddr,realname=FullName" />
    <input type="hidden" name="mail_options" value="Exclude=email;realname" />

    <table border="1" cellspacing="5%">
    <tbody>
    <tr>
    <td>
    <p>Please enter your name:</p>
    </td>
    <td><input type="text" name="FullName" /></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td>
    <p>Please enter your email address:</p>
    </td>
    <td><input type="text" name="EmailAddr" /></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td>
    <p>May we contact you?</p>
    </td>
    <td>Yes <input type="radio" name="contact" value="Y" checked="checked" /> No <input type="radio" name="contact" value="N" /></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td>
    <p>What are your favourite colours?</p>
    </td>
    <td>Red <input type="checkbox" name="colors[]" value="red" /> Blue <input type="checkbox" name="colors[]" value="blue" /> Yellow <input type="checkbox" name="colors[]" value="yellow" /></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td valign="top">
    <p>What vehicles do you have a license to operate?</p>
    </td>
    <td valign="top">
    <p><select name="vehicles[]" size="5" multiple="multiple"> <option value="Car">Car</option> <option value="Bus">Bus</option> <option value="Truck">Truck</option> <option value="Plane">Aeroplane</option> <option value="Boat">Boat</option> </select> (Select all that apply; use CTRL-click to select)</p>
    </td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td valign="top">
    <p>Please enter your message:</p>
    </td>
    <td><textarea name="mesg" rows="10" cols="50"></textarea></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td><input type="submit" value="Submit" /></td>
    <td style="text-align: right;"><span style="font-size: 60%;">Powered by Tectite <a href="http://www.tectite.com/" target="_blank">FormMail</a>.</span></td>
    </tr>
    </tbody>
    </table>
    </form>


    How can I fix this?

    Jason

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: Formmail working in Sample and Test but not in Production

    browse to ur page with the form and look at the HTML source

    i bet it does't have this:
    HTML Code:
    <input type="hidden" name="recipients" value="jason@simpleeasypc.com" />
    perhaps joomla is damaging the email address

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Wink Re: Formmail working in Sample and Test but not in Production

    You would be correct.

    Alright now that I have a direction to go I'll keep poking around.

    If I find a Solution I'll Post it Here.

    If you know of one, please post it to save me some time.

    It's a Module and not an Article... I'm not sure if there's an option to disable HTML Scrubbing or Disabling the Spambot Protection. Also not your area I'll keep you informed!

    Thanks for the help!

    Here's what it turned it into:

    <input type="hidden" name="recipients" value="
    <script type='text/javascript'>
    <!--
    var prefix = '&#109;a' + 'i&#108;' + '&#116;o';
    var path = 'hr' + 'ef' + '=';
    var addy28135 = 'j&#97;s&#111;n' + '&#64;';
    addy28135 = addy28135 + 's&#105;mpl&#101;&#101;&#97;sypc' + '&#46;' + 'c&#111;m';
    document.write('<a ' + path + '\'' + prefix + ':' + addy28135 + '\'>');
    document.write(addy28135);
    document.write('<\/a>');
    //-->\n </script><script type='text/javascript'>
    <!--
    document.write('<span style=\'display: none;\'>');
    //-->
    </script>This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    <script type='text/javascript'>
    <!--
    document.write('</');
    document.write('span>');
    //-->

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Red face SOLVED: Re: Formmail working in Sample and Test but not in Production

    To fix this issue. It may not be what you want.

    In the Administration Menu
    Disable the Email Cloaking Plug-in

    I don't like this option. I'm going to poke around more and see what else I can come up with as an exclusion.

    It's a Custom HTML Module I used to put the Form in a Menu Position.

    Thanks Again!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Formmail working in Sample and Test but not in Production

    Even Better Solution!

    Ignore Previous "Fix"

    When you add a Custom HTML Module in Joomla 1.6+ or maybe even 1.5 there's an Option in the Admin Panel that says Prepare Content. Set it to No, this stops Joomla from running any plugins over the information. I would imagine if you have a lot of Custom HTML modules to use it where you don't need any of the plugins to run on them.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Formmail working in Sample and Test but not in Production

    Quote Originally Posted by Jester76 View Post
    I'm completely baffled.

    First, I'm running Joomla 2.5 and Script Version 8.29.
    PHP 5.3
    GoDaddy is my Host.


    When I put the sampleform.htm in the root folder it works fine.

    But if I copy and paste the exact same form into a Joomla Custom HTML Module the form sends the Data but I get this as a response from formmail.php for the user as follows:

    An error occurred while processing the form .

    The staff at xxxxxxxxxxxx.com have been alerted to the error .
    xxxxxxxxxxxx.com apologizes for any inconvenience this error may have caused.


    Then in my email...

    I get the form results and the Error Below.


    The following error occurred in FormMail :
    no_valid_recipients
    **********
    Error=The form has an internal error - no valid recipients were specified.

    This is a Base Install. I've verified the Script Info:

    /* Help: http://www.tectite.com/fmdoc/target_email.php */
    $TARGET_EMAIL = array("^jason@simpleeasypc\.com$");


    /* Help: http://www.tectite.com/fmdoc/def_alert.php */
    define("DEF_ALERT","jason@simpleeasypc.com");

    Only Settings I Changed ^^^^^


    Form Data:

    <form action="formmail.php" method="post" name="SampleForm"><input type="hidden" name="env_report" value="REMOTE_HOST,REMOTE_ADDR,HTTP_USER_AGENT,AUTH_TYPE,REMOTE_USER" />

    <input type="hidden" name="recipients" value="jason@simpleeasypc.com" />
    <input type="hidden" name="required" value="EmailAddr:Your email address,FullName:Your name" />
    <input type="hidden" name="subject" value="WTF" />
    <input type="hidden" name="derive_fields" value="email=EmailAddr,realname=FullName" />
    <input type="hidden" name="mail_options" value="Exclude=email;realname" />

    <table border="1" cellspacing="5%">
    <tbody>
    <tr>
    <td>
    <p>Please enter your name:</p>
    </td>
    <td><input type="text" name="FullName" /></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td>
    <p>Please enter your email address:</p>
    </td>
    <td><input type="text" name="EmailAddr" /></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td>
    <p>May we contact you?</p>
    </td>
    <td>Yes <input type="radio" name="contact" value="Y" checked="checked" /> No <input type="radio" name="contact" value="N" /></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td>
    <p>What are your favourite colours?</p>
    </td>
    <td>Red <input type="checkbox" name="colors[]" value="red" /> Blue <input type="checkbox" name="colors[]" value="blue" /> Yellow <input type="checkbox" name="colors[]" value="yellow" /></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td valign="top">
    <p>What vehicles do you have a license to operate?</p>
    </td>
    <td valign="top">
    <p><select name="vehicles[]" size="5" multiple="multiple"> <option value="Car">Car</option> <option value="Bus">Bus</option> <option value="Truck">Truck</option> <option value="Plane">Aeroplane</option> <option value="Boat">Boat</option> </select> (Select all that apply; use CTRL-click to select)</p>
    </td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td valign="top">
    <p>Please enter your message:</p>
    </td>
    <td><textarea name="mesg" rows="10" cols="50"></textarea></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td><input type="submit" value="Submit" /></td>
    <td style="text-align: right;"><span style="font-size: 60%;">Powered by Tectite <a href="http://www.tectite.com/" target="_blank">FormMail</a>.</span></td>
    </tr>
    </tbody>
    </table>
    </form>


    How can I fix this?

    Jason
    I'm getting the exact same error message now on a form that has been installed on my Website and working perfectly for at least two years. Has Tectite changed something? Why would the script now quit working?

    I'm not using Joomla. My site is www.dreammakergraphics.com

    Do I need to install a new FormMail handler? This is the error I get when I hit Submit:

    An error occurred while processing the form .

    Please contact us directly since this form is not working .
    We apologize for any inconvenience this error may have caused.
    Your form submission was processed by (7.14), available from www.tectite.com.
    Last edited by wnotis; 20-Feb-2012 at 03:14 PM. Reason: Additional comments

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: Formmail working in Sample and Test but not in Production

    basic computing principle: if it was working and now it isn't, something has changed.

    did tectite change sometrhing? no - they can't affect ur server

    did ur host change something? almost certainly.

    they've broken it and u need to ask them what they changed

    don't go makeing any changes (updates etc) before u found out what was broken otherwise u just get in a mess

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Formmail working in Sample and Test but not in Production

    Quote Originally Posted by crabtree View Post
    basic computing principle: if it was working and now it isn't, something has changed.

    did tectite change sometrhing? no - they can't affect ur server

    did ur host change something? almost certainly.

    they've broken it and u need to ask them what they changed

    don't go makeing any changes (updates etc) before u found out what was broken otherwise u just get in a mess

    Yep. I instinctively knew that... but I think I panicked and took leave of my senses (and good tech skills ... call it a brain fart). Thanks for the quick reply.

    I contacted my tech support this afternoon just a little while ago. They had it fixed in about 30 seconds. All is well now.

    I love this FormMail!

    Thanks so much.

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Sample form working but not my own
    By Myckelgensjo in forum Community Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18-Jun-2008, 03:50 PM
  2. sample form not even working?
    By baggiesmad in forum Community Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29-Oct-2007, 01:14 PM
  3. Sample Form not working
    By vexo in forum Community Support
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 16-May-2007, 11:51 AM
  4. Sample form not working
    By projectpixel8 in forum Community Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15-Mar-2007, 03:35 PM
  5. Test mail works, sample form fails
    By Randy in forum Community Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30-Oct-2006, 04:52 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts