Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Convert form data to csv and send as attachment

Default Convert form data to csv and send as attachment

Hi,

First, FM is working and is a great script. The How-To pages cover how to create a csv formatted email, but not the other bits that I am trying to do. Russell has been patiently trying to help me do the following but probably since I am not experienced with php, I haven't been able to make it work.

- FM processes the html form data and creates a separate csv file, this file NOT to be stored in a db.
    - FM automatically attaches the csv file to the email generated by FM, and does not include the data in the body of the email.

My client then loads the csv file directly into their proprietary customer data base. The clients do not want the liability problems of storing sensitive customer info on their db, no matter how secure I can make it.

I hope that someone has faced this requirement before and has some ideas on how to modify FM to do it.

Regards from chilly New England

Default Re: Convert form data to csv and send as attachment

Doc,

What exactly are you not able to make happen? Do you get the form email? Does the email have an attachment?

George

Quote Originally Posted by GeoBrooks
    Doc,

What exactly are you not able to make happen? Do you get the form email? Does the email have an attachment?

George
    Hi George,

I receive the form email. The text of the email uses the Plaintemplate that I created to send the data in csv format. But I don't want the form data in the body of the email, I want it only as an attachment in csv format. I will encode the attachment with Tectites encoder utilities. Does that make sense?

Doc

Doc,

All sounds good. The issue is then getting the csv attachment into your db? In short, the process is straightforward. Assuming you've saved the attachmet, with PHP you can:
    • open attachment, read contents
    • parse contents to variables
    • store variables in tables