Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Setup FormMail on Yahoo Small Business

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Setup FormMail on Yahoo Small Business

    I have tried several times to run the FormMail script on Yahoo Small Business and keep getting errors. The form does not process, not does it send the alert message to tell me what the issue is. I looked at the server logs and it says the "From Address Does Not Exist on the Server" I do have the form set to send to a valid email address on the server, yet it does not want to send.

    I used the wizard to setup the form script. First I chose, "Don't Know" on the server settings and it didn't work, so then I tried "Windows" and that did not work either. If anyone has suggestions please let me know!!! Thanks in advance for any help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Setup FormMail on Yahoo Small Business

    Thats funny i'm having the same issue and just checked in here on a whim to see if it had been posted about before. I can't get the form to work on Yahoo Small Business Account. Alternatively I'm sending the form to a non-yahoo email address so i wonder if they block that somehow?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Setup FormMail on Yahoo Small Business

    I was having the same issue on another hosting account. The form is trying to use the standard PHP functions to send email, but it does not allow it. I just got word back from my hosting support that the Form Mail script has to authenticate using the SMTP. If I remember correctly there is an SMTP section in the PHP file that allows you to setup your SMTP parameters. I'll try it out this weekend and let you know if it works.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    162

    Default Re: Setup FormMail on Yahoo Small Business

    I'm having issues with yahoo too. If the email form is submitted with an email address from the domain, then it goes through, otherwise yahoo blocks it. I'd like to work around this, but haven't figured it out yet.
    Last edited by CHMOD000; 09-Nov-2007 at 06:48 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Setup FormMail on Yahoo Small Business

    I never got the issue resolved. We ended up calling Edit.com to finish the form to see if they could get it working. I setup SMTP Auth in the form script and it still didn't work. Strange thing is, I tried the form on another server and I am having the same issue. My hosting suggested I use SMTP Auth. so I did, and it still gave me errors. We'll see what Edit.com comes up with, they should finish up our form in about 4-5 days.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Setup FormMail on Yahoo Small Business

    This isn't even the same tectite script, but it does work on Yahoo for the contact form. Just create a form and point it to the Contact.php file. Open the PHP file and add you own domain name and email address.

    [ATTACH]contact.php[/ATTACH]
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    6

    Red face Re: Setup FormMail on Yahoo Small Business

    I used this and it "worked", however the e-mail message I received said Form Mail Script Error in the subject line. Any idea why or how to fix?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chugiak, Alaska
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Setup FormMail on Yahoo Small Business

    Hi there...

    I had the same problem. I have been using Yahoo! Small business since about 1998, so I am kind of used to them changing stuff without telling any of us.


    I had to make three changes.

    In the formmail.php, I had to add the from user like this:

    /* Help: http://www.tectite.com/fmdoc/from_user.php */
    $FROM_USER = "sales@alaskainmydreams.com"; // the default - setting not used

    I also had to set the from user to true:

    /* Help: http://www.tectite.com/fmdoc/set_sender_from_email.php */
    define("SET_SENDER_FROM_EMAIL",true);



    Then in the contact form, I had to add a from user there, too. Just before the submit button in the input area: (make sure you put the EAah3 in between the first and last part of your email address so you don't get spammers stripping your email address)


    <input type="hidden" name="mail_options"
    value="FromAddr=salesEAah3alaskainmydreams.com" />


    I guess they did all this to keep spammers out..


    Hope this helps.

    Lynne
    alaskainmydreams.com

    Here's my form code: ( I changed the name of my formmail.php so people wouldn't try to hack it)

    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
    <title>Contact form</title>
    </head>
    <body>
    <h1>Contact Form</h1>
    <p>
    To contact us at <b>www.alaskainmydreams.com</b>, please fill in the following information.
    </p>
    <p>
    (Required fields are shown in <b>bold</b>.)
    </p>

    <form method="post" action="http://www.alaskainmydreams.com/talktome.php" name="ContactForm">
    <table border="1" cellspacing="1%">
    <tr>
    <td>
    <p><b>Please enter your name</b>:</p>
    </td>
    <td>
    <input type="text" name="Name" />
    (required) </td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td>
    <p><b>Please enter your email address</b>:</p>
    </td>
    <td>

    <p>
    <input type="text" name="EmailAddr" />
    (required)</p>
    <p>&nbsp;</p>
    </td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td>
    <p>Your phone number:</p>
    </td>
    <td>
    <input type="text" name="Phone" />
    (optional) </td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td>
    <p>Your fax number:</p>
    </td>
    <td>
    <input type="text" name="Fax" />
    (optional)</td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td>
    <p>Preferred contact method:</p>
    </td>
    <td>
    <select name="Contact">
    <option value="EMAIL" selected>Please contact me by email</option>
    <option value="PHONE">Please contact me by phone</option>
    <option value="FAX">Please contact me by fax</option>
    </select>
    </td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td valign="top">
    <p>If you wish to send us a message, please enter it here:</p>
    </td>
    <td>
    <textarea name="Message" rows="10" cols="50"></textarea>
    </td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td colspan="2">
    </tr>
    </table>
    <p>
    <!-- input type="hidden" name="env_report" value="REMOTE_HOST,REMOTE_ADDR,HTTP_USER_AGENT,AUTH_TYPE,REMOTE_USER" -->
    <input type="hidden" name="recipients" value="salesEAah3alaskainmydreams.com" />
    <input type="hidden" name="required" value="EmailAddr:Your email address,Name:Your name" />
    <input type="hidden" name="derive_fields" value="email=EmailAddr,realname=Name" />
    <input type="hidden" name="mail_options" value="Exclude=email;realname;your_good_url,KeepLines" />
    <input type="hidden" name="subject" value="Contact request from www.alaskainmydreams.com" />
    <input type="hidden" name="good_url" value="" />
    <input type="hidden" name="mail_options"
    value="FromAddr=salesEAah3alaskainmydreams.com" />
    <input type="submit" value="Submit" name="submit" />
    </p>
    </form>
    <!--
    Please support the ongoing development of FormMail and our other
    freeware products by keeping the following text on your form
    (or placing it elsewhere on your website). Thanks!
    -->
    <!-- START LINK -->
    <small>This form and its
    <a href="

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    162

    Default Re: Setup FormMail on Yahoo Small Business

    Quote Originally Posted by alaskainmydreams View Post
    I have been using Yahoo! Small business since about 1998, so I am kind of used to them changing stuff without telling any of us.
    There are so many better hosts than Yahoo. What keeps you there? Reminds me of a saying, "The definition of insane is getting the same result many times but expecting something different". (or something like that).

    Even Rasmus Lerdorf, creator of PHP left Yahoo!
    http://www.techcrunch.com/2009/11/10...-leaves-yahoo/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Chugiak, Alaska
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Setup FormMail on Yahoo Small Business

    I have tried lots of "better hosts" and what keeps me there is their 24 hour excellent tech support and the fact that I don't have to mess with it. It is always up and always works. Besides the recent PHP thing, I have really actually not had any issues.
    Been selling online on their stores and have done really well there. They have a great "in" to Google and Bing, so the traffic to my online store is excellent and the buyers qualified.

    So, for 13 bucks a month for a website with unlimited bandwidth and 24 hour phone support and merchant account fees through Mercantech that are the lowest I have found in the industry...
    Why go through the headaches to move to another server and find out the traffic and the stability just isn't there?

    I was half kidding when I said they don't ever tell us of changes. They're actually pretty good about that.

    Lynne
    alaskafilmstudios.com
    alaskainmydreams.com

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with setup
    By chuacho in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-Jul-2005, 07:31 AM
  2. error message on formmail setup
    By ncangler in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25-May-2005, 10:54 PM
  3. smae setup different results
    By tray in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17-Aug-2004, 08:24 PM
  4. Redirects, Sessions and Yahoo
    By Froduss in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-Jul-2004, 09:49 PM
  5. DEF_ALERT setup in script - Don't understand
    By jodmcc in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-Jun-2004, 07:02 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •