Thread: Switched to a Windows server, now Form Mail is broken

Default Switched to a Windows server, now Form Mail is broken

I've been using FormMail successfully for several months on my old web server (we'll call it OldServer). But, now that my hosting provider (a.k.a. my roommate) has built a new server (let's call it NewServer) and moved everything over to it, my FormMail stuff no longer works.

When I try using the forms on NewServer, I get the "An error occurred while processing the form. Our staff have been alerted to the error." stuff. So, says I, why don't I start over, re-download a sample form from the site, and see if it works. Tried that and got the exact same error.

So, I figured I would try the instructions in "Does your web server send mail?" Here's what I get:
    --With testmail.php, it tells me "Mail function FAILED"
    --With testmail2.php, it tells me "Mail function succeeded with -f parameter"

So...following the instructions in that document, I changed the SENDMAIL_F_OPTION and SET_SENDER_FROM_EMAIL in my FormMail file from false to true. Reuploaded and tested it again, but I am still getting the same problem: "An error occurred while processing the form. Our staff have been alerted to the error."

I should also note that, during all the times I tried these test messages, I did not once get any sort of confirmation or error message emailed to me. So I don't know if that means these things were supposed to email me at all, or if the mail just isn't getting sent. Even when I try the http://ussgalaxy.net/mail.php?testalert=1 URL with the sample form, it tells me a test message was sent and to check my mail, but I never get that test message.

After that, I stumbled across "Does your server accept PHP?" I did as this page instructed and this is some of the info that it gives me on NewServer:
    --System: Windows NT 5.2 build 3790
    --Server API: Apache 2.0 Handler
    --Apache Version: Apache/2.2.8 (Win32) PHP/5.2.6