Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: FormMail script error? Is email: & realname: Hard coded somewhere?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    82

    Default FormMail script error? Is email: & realname: Hard coded somewhere?

    I keep getting

    email:
    realname:

    In step one of my multitest. These two field are not required by my form in the first step. How would I stop formmail from putting them in my error page?

    The only field i have set in multitest.htm is year.

    <form name="MultiSample" method="post" action="formmail.php">
    <input type="hidden" name="required" value="year" />
    <input type="hidden" name="multi_start" value="1" />
    <input type="hidden" name="next_form" value="multitest2.htm" />
    <input type="hidden" name="bad_url" value="http://www.mysite.com/fmbadhandler.php" />
    <input type="hidden" name="bad_template" value="multierror.htm" />
    <input type="hidden" name="this_form" value="http://www.mysite.com/multitest.htm" />

    <select name="year">

    Thats it nothing else...
    Last edited by billy; 11-Dec-2008 at 11:35 AM. Reason: lil more info

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    82

    Default Re: FormMail script error? Is email: & realname: Hard coded somewhere?

    I found

    $a_safe_fields = array(
    "email: ".$SPECIAL_VALUES["email"],
    "realname: ".$SPECIAL_VALUES["realname"],
    );

    In formmail.php

    Maybe I need to edit this? Any suggestions on what would work best?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: FormMail script error? Is email: & realname: Hard coded somewhere?

    on ur error page?

    that doesnt sound right.

    can u post ur form's URL so I can see wot u mean

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    82

    Default Re: FormMail script error? Is email: & realname: Hard coded somewhere?

    Sure...

    mrjunkyard dot com

    multitest.htm

    This is hard coded in the fm.php seems logical that the problem is there.

    $a_safe_fields = array(
    "email: ".$SPECIAL_VALUES["email"],
    "realname: ".$SPECIAL_VALUES["realname"],
    );

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    82

    Default Re: FormMail script error? Is email: & realname: Hard coded somewhere?

    Quote Originally Posted by crabtree View Post
    on ur error page?

    that doesnt sound right.

    can u post ur form's URL so I can see wot u mean
    I didn't really answer your question. So lets try again.

    No its not in the multierror.htm

    It is an email that says FormMail script error.
    That I receive to my inbox because I have

    /* Help: http://www.tectite.com/fmdoc/def_alert.php */
    define("DEF_ALERT","xxx@xxx.com");

    set in the formmail.php

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    82

    Default Re: FormMail script error? Is email: & realname: Hard coded somewhere?

    This is the email that I get for not selecting either of the two values.

    To: xxx@xxx.com
    From: FormMail@www.xxx.com

    The following error occurred in FormMail :
    missing_fields
    Error=The form required some values that you did not seem to provide.
    year
    make



    email:
    realname:

    year: ''
    make: ''
    submit: 'Next >'

    Referring page was xxx.com/multitest.htm

    User IP address was 69.xxx.xx.xxx

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: FormMail script error? Is email: & realname: Hard coded somewhere?

    error messages are error messages to help u solve problems

    does it really matter that fm is showing email and realname?

    they are there coz they are "special fields"

    dont go modifying correct working code unless u want to break things

    the error ur getting is to help u debug ur forms

    u can switch it off with ALERT_ON_USER_ERROR

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    82

    Default Re: FormMail script error? Is email: & realname: Hard coded somewhere?

    Cool... Half the battle is understanding. I ran across this lil issue early on and was wondering what the heck, why am i getting those in my error messages. Anyway I understand the why now after deleting everything that could have caused them.

    Plus I look at it this way, you took time out of your day to help me out. So I didn't want to leave the thread with out at least posting back.

    Thanks for your posts crabtree . I am sure I will be up to speed in a few weeks...

    I did not remove any code from formmail.
    Last edited by billy; 12-Dec-2008 at 02:36 AM. Reason: Needed to clarify something else.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: FormMail script error? Is email: & realname: Hard coded somewhere?

    Plus I look at it this way, you took time out of your day to help me out. So I didn't want to leave the thread with out at least posting back.

    Thanks for your posts crabtree . I am sure I will be up to speed in a few weeks...
    'tis cool.

    theres lots to learn, but do what i did - take it slowly a step at a time.

    read the doco too - its very good....and if u dont understand something in it, tell russell. ive seen him respond to someones post and update the doco with an hour!!!!!!

    un-frigging-believable!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: FormMail script error? Is email: & realname: Hard coded somewhere?

    Quote Originally Posted by billy View Post
    I keep getting

    email:
    realname:

    In step one of my multitest. These two field are not required by my form in the first step. How would I stop formmail from putting them in my error page?

    Hey there!
    You were close, the part you're looking for is in the formmail.php...just block out these lines and that should give you what you are looking for.

    */

    if (!IsMailExcluded("realname"))
    {
    array_unshift($a_fld_order,"realname");
    $a_clean_fields["realname"] = $SPECIAL_VALUES["realname"];
    }
    if (!IsMailExcluded("email"))
    {
    array_unshift($a_fld_order,"email");
    $a_clean_fields["email"] = $SPECIAL_VALUES["email"];
    }

    */


    p.s. - do a search for with part of that code to easily find it.
    Last edited by Aytch; 17-Mar-2011 at 11:01 PM. Reason: add. instructions

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Script Works, Email Contains No Information
    By JakeForest in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 28-Dec-2005, 10:51 PM
  2. Thanks for the great script, but I am having issues...
    By darknightjedi in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 26-Aug-2004, 08:08 PM
  3. DEF_ALERT setup in script - Don't understand
    By jodmcc in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-Jun-2004, 07:02 AM
  4. Error Messsage for Formmail.php
    By dparker2 in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-Jun-2004, 07:09 AM
  5. Great script but.....
    By Remosz in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23-Mar-2004, 10:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •