Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Filter encode failed (status 1)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Filter encode failed (status 1)

    I'm getting the following error:
    filter_failed
    **********
    Error=Filter "encode" failed (status 1):

    My form works 100% until I add the line to encode... I've verified the path to the encoder. I can manually encode files on the server. I've covered everything I could think of, PHP settings, fmencoder location and permissions... Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,980

    Default Re: Filter encode failed (status 1)

    Hi,

    It sounds like the settings inside FormMail's configuration section ($FILTERS) are not correct.

    Status 1 generally indicates a failure to execute the program.

    There are supposed to be additional messages along with this to assist you, but sometimes servers are not setup correctly and these messages cannot be retrieved.

    Our records indicate that we haven't sent you a license for FormMailDecoder. Without FormMailDecoder, you cannot setup correct keys for FormMailEncoder, so there's no way to get it working without a license.

    Perhaps that's the problem you're having.
    Russell Robinson - Author of Tectite FormMail and FormMailDecoder
    http://www.tectite.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Filter encode failed (status 1)

    We've already purchased the license. I'm having to setup the encoder on our server, and setup the decoder on a user's machine. Wouldn't the encoder work even if the decoder is not setup on my personal machine? I can manually encode the messages on the server. I can submit the form and get the emails and alerts.... What do you suggest?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,980

    Default Re: Filter encode failed (status 1)

    Hi,

    We've already purchased the license.
    No problem...it must be under a different name/email address.

    I'm having to setup the encoder on our server, and setup the decoder on a user's machine. Wouldn't the encoder work even if the decoder is not setup on my personal machine?
    FormMailEncoder will execute but cannot complete successfully without a valid public key file.

    To get a public key file, you need to generate a public/private key pair using FormMailDecoder.

    If someone else has setup the public key for you and loaded it on the server, then that will work too.

    In this case, you will need a copy of the ".fmk" file that they've created to decode messages (when you get past the error you're getting on the server).

    I can manually encode the messages on the server. I can submit the form and get the emails and alerts.... What do you suggest?
    If the above information doesn't help, I suggest I take a look for you and sort out the problem.

    In this case, please send access details to your server using this secure form:
    https://secure.rootsoftware.com/~tectite/sendsecret.php

    Please include the URL for the form you're working on, too.
    Russell Robinson - Author of Tectite FormMail and FormMailDecoder
    http://www.tectite.com/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Filter encode failed (status 1)

    I've set the configuration of this software aside for a while, however, now I've come back to it, as we really need an form that sends an email to be secured... I am unable to get past the error of:
    filter_failed
    **********
    Error=Filter "encode" failed (status 1):

    I've gone over every possible setting I can think of. The form works just fine with FormMail, until I add the 'encode' line. I've checked the IUSR permissions, they're all fine. The one thing I've noticed is that in most of the instructions, there's a cgi-bin/ folder. We're not using Apache or Tomcat, but IIS 6. Should it still work?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,980

    Default Re: Filter encode failed (status 1)

    Hi,

    Quite a lot of customers use IIS with FormMailEncoder.

    Have you gone through this post:
    http://www.tectite.com/vbforums/showthread.php?t=1311

    There are two sets of suggestions there.

    You may need to get a Windows/IIS expert to do this for you.
    Russell Robinson - Author of Tectite FormMail and FormMailDecoder
    http://www.tectite.com/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Filter encode failed (status 1)

    In case it might help anyone else....
    After tons of trouble setting up Formmail, the setting that finally eliminated the 'status 1' error message was setting up the scratchpad directory. Although it's listed as optional, it got the encoder working immediately.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Failed to open CSV file
    By jibber in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15-Sep-2005, 02:26 AM
  2. Error=Failed to send email [M94]
    By colinjack in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 26-Jul-2005, 12:23 PM
  3. Upgrade failed
    By ptr in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-Jan-2005, 11:17 PM
  4. filter name
    By crabtree in forum FormMailEncoder/Decoder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-May-2004, 12:38 AM
  5. William,Failed to send email.
    By shama07 in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31-Jan-2004, 04:08 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •