Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: $return_link works for user errors, but not for system errors??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    24

    Default $return_link works for user errors, but not for system errors??

    Just when I thought everything was ok...
    I use an error template plus fmbadhandler. They work beautifully together most of the time. The error template has <a href="$return_link">Return to form</a> to return people to the the form, and it works so long as the errors are user errors. However, if the error is a system error, the return link takes me to... http://www.wolfdogrescue.net/forms/fmfiles/$return_link which of course doesn't work.

    I followed the Advanced Error Handling guide exactly. I couldn't find any other posts on the forum related to this exact problem. What could possibly be causing return link to fail just because the error is a system error?

    My form is located here: http://www.wolfdogrescue.net/forms/contactform.htm

    To get a system error, fill in the email fields with addlkfd;@yahoo.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: $return_link works for user errors, but not for system errors??

    yeah, i think "system errors" are deemed "hard"

    meaning it ain't going to work if the user changes somethign

    so, it makes no sense to have a return link in that case

    wot i do is put my own return link code in between the <fmusererror></fmusererror> tags

    like this:
    HTML Code:
    <fmusererror>
     
    error tags here
     
    <a href="$return_link">Return to the form</a>
     
    </fmusererror>
    of course, u found a case where user input can cause a system error

    but, really u just need to check the syntax of the email address using "conditions" and then it becomes a user error and ur problem is solved

    BTW, ur form is big enough to set PUT_DATA_IN_URL to false

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: $return_link works for user errors, but not for system errors??

    Thank you!
    It is a relief to know that this is normal. I have done as you said and repositioned the return link. And also changed PUT_DATA_IN_URL to false (thanks for the tip)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Script Works, Email Contains No Information
    By JakeForest in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 28-Dec-2005, 10:51 PM
  2. run errors
    By gilmurr in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-Mar-2004, 08:52 PM
  3. Errors after from submission
    By LPac in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18-Feb-2004, 02:23 AM
  4. no recipient errors!
    By jeriy in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20-Jan-2004, 09:45 AM
  5. Formmail works fine, but no e-mail
    By Wiggy in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-Jan-2004, 04:05 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •