Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How do you pass imgverify errors to bad_template?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    31

    Question How do you pass imgverify errors to bad_template?

    I am using bad_template to pass form errors back to my visitors.
    I am having success with all hidden required fields however if I fill the captcha characters into the imgverify field incorrectly when testing the template, the error message is not being returned to the visitor.
    I can set up a hidden required field for the imgverify field however it will only return a result that the field was not filled in.
    I tried using $REQUIRE_CAPTCHA = ""; in formmail.php but it doesn't return any result for the imgverify field if I make a mistake with the characters that I type in.
    Is there any way that I can return a result for both an empty field and if the user types in the wrong characters as separate errors?
    I am currently using
    Code:
    <fmerroritem1 />
    to pass the errors on to my template.
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    378

    Post Re: How do you pass imgverify errors to bad_template?

    You should get an error message if the field has the wrong characters. I get the following with my form.

    Your entry did not match the image

    Is verifyimg.php in the same folder as your formmail and fmbadhandler.php?

    Also, do you have more than just fmerroritem1? I assume you have item2, 3, etc to handler more than one error.
    Last edited by jzieba; 20-Sep-2009 at 02:32 PM. Reason: addition

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: How do you pass imgverify errors to bad_template?

    Yes that is the message that I am not getting but am looking for. I do have the verifyimg.php in the same folder as form mail.php.
    I was wondering if there was anything in the verifyimg.php that I had to configure to pass the error message on but I don't think there is.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: How do you pass imgverify errors to bad_template?

    I am also not using badhandler.php at all. Unfortunately I have had problems getting formmail.php to open badhandler.php in the past which is why I am not using it at present.
    My host server will open urls but for some reason it tells me that badhandler is off limits with a 'restricted access' 403 error page!
    I was able to access my error template.htm directly from the browser at the time using the directory path but for some reason access was denied to formmail.php
    I was never able to resolve that problem in the past and cannot afford to pay for support at the moment.
    All of this aside, I can still use a static html page that passes the errors on for me using bad_template and the
    Code:
    <fmerroritem1 />
    commands on the page.
    Yes I also have multiple error tags to handle the errors. I have four in total with each html tag altered accordingly: <fmerroritem1 />,<fmerroritem2 />,<fmerroritem3 />,<fmerroritem4 /> in each of their own cells on the page.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: How do you pass imgverify errors to bad_template?

    Was there ever a resolution to this post?

    I am having the same problem only with a couple operating differences. I use Captcha Creator, ini file, formbadhandler and <fmerroritemlist /> on the error page. My forms are working except for not returning the "images don't match" error. It does display the correct error if the images are not entered but not if they don't match. I have had this problem for a long time (since early v8.*) but have never had the time to get help.

    Any suggestions or ideas are very welcome!

    Thank you in advance.

    Notes:
    Formmail v8.24, fmbadhandler v1.21, imgverify v1.05
    Apache server
    All forms and respective parts are in the same folder except css
    Form is here click on Contact Us and it is only set up to send to me right now.

    $REQUIRE_CAPTCHA = "Please enter the images displayed";
    $aMessages : $aMessages[MSG_VERIFY_MATCH] = 'Your entry did not match the image';
    Last edited by TazzyT; 20-Aug-2010 at 04:34 PM. Reason: more info

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: How do you pass imgverify errors to bad_template?

    I had the same problem.

    If the typed characters don't match the displayed image no error message gets displayed.
    On investigation I found that using <fmerror /> DID display a correct message, so I added it to my bad template and bob's your uncle.

    Hope that helps,
    Tim

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    78

    Default Re: How do you pass imgverify errors to bad_template?

    Quote Originally Posted by timjohn View Post
    I had the same problem.

    If the typed characters don't match the displayed image no error message gets displayed.
    On investigation I found that using <fmerror /> DID display a correct message, so I added it to my bad template and bob's your uncle.
    I'm getting the same problem reported above where using

    <fmerroritemlist />

    results in NO error being displayed in the "bad template" page if the CAPTCHA string was incorrectly entered.

    timjohn, did you replace <fmerroritemlist /> with <fmerror /> in your template or are you using both tags in your template?

    Thanks!

    Peace...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: How do you pass imgverify errors to bad_template?

    Hi,
    This is the code from my bad_template (well the bit that matters)

    <h2>Submission Error</h2>
    <p>An error has been detected on the contact form.<br /><br />
    Please click the link below to return to the Contact form and check that you have completed ALL the required fields.<br /><br />
    It may also be that you didn't enter the Security Code correctly</p>
    <p>The basic error message is:<br /><b><fmerror /></b></p>
    <fmusererror>
    <p>This is a list of items in error:</p>
    <ul>
    <fmerroritemlist />
    </ul>
    <h3><a href="$return_link">Return to form</a></h3>
    </fmusererror>

    I hope this helps, it's not perfect but it seems to do the job.
    All the best.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Need help fixing errors, please!
    By jrscards in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17-Sep-2004, 09:29 PM
  2. i realy tried errors after errors
    By cc1 in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-Aug-2004, 10:27 PM
  3. run errors
    By gilmurr in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-Mar-2004, 08:52 PM
  4. Errors after from submission
    By LPac in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18-Feb-2004, 02:23 AM
  5. no recipient errors!
    By jeriy in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20-Jan-2004, 09:45 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •