Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 52

Thread: Need help w/ two-page form

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    53

    Default Need help w/ two-page form

    My form has two pages. I used the computation wizard to set up page 2. Should I cut and paste the beginning <form> tag currently on page 2 and move it to page 1? Then will the form continue when the user clicks the "next" button?

    I created a $MULTIFORMDIR and $MULTIFORMURL folder and uploaded them to the server. I did both because have no idea what the difference is and which one i should use.

    Personally, I think the instructions leave a lot of holes for people that just scratch their head and say "duh" when faced with code talk, like me.

    I sure would appreciate any help. I'd like for someone to help me in stages if possible. Tell me to do one or two things, I do it, and then you tell me what's next—unless you can just list out the steps. I just don't understand this stuff. The Contact form is working. This is the last thing I have to accomplish before the site can go live (for now). It will be an ongoing project of improvement as I learn CSS and other things. I'm doing this for a friend, I'm not a professional.

    I would really, really appreciate anyone's help.

    TIA,
    Diane

    P.S. If you'd like to look at the pages I'm talking about, page 1 is at http://dridpath.com/Create_Design_main.html, and page 2 is at http://dridpath.com/order_page.html

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: Need help w/ two-page form

    1st suggestion...

    u have:
    HTML Code:
    <input type="hidden" name="this_form" value="http://www.dridpath.com/Create_Design_top.html" />
    <input type="hidden" name="next_form" value="http://www.dridpath.com/Templates/order_page.html" />
    but u provided this URL:
    http://dridpath.com/Create_Design_main.html

    u mixed "www." with non-"www."

    u absolutely MUST be consistent otherwise u will have problems.

    choose what u want to use and make sure everywhere u specify ur domain inside FormMail or in ur HTML u r consistent


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: Need help w/ two-page form

    Should I cut and paste the beginning <form> tag currently on page 2 and move it to page 1? Then will the form continue when the user clicks the "next" button?
    tectite's HOW TO guide is pretty clear on the steps - page 1 is different to the other pages and it tells u wot

    so, to answer ur question above: no, it won't work because page 1 has to have some stuff that the other pages don't have

    maybe ask if u don't understand wot the doco is telling u and someone can help

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: Need help w/ two-page form

    OMG! Thank you for replying crabtree. Where do I have the path as http://dridpath.com/Create_Design_main.html? I have gone through the Create Design form and tectiteformproc.php (my formmail) and changed everything I could find to www.dridpath.com/etc, but it still didn't work. So I tried adding http://--still didn't work. I must be missing something somewhere, that's why I ask where you found this. When naming these paths, does it matter if the http:// is there? In some of the instructions it shows the path as "myform.htm" and sometimes "www.mysite.com/my form, so I'm really confused about how to specify this.

    My second page of the form (order_form.html) is in the Templates directory, as well as multierror.htm. Tectiteformproc.php is in the man directory. This is the latest way I have changes the <input> fields.

    <form id="form1" name="form1" method="post" action="tectiteformproc.php">
    <input type="hidden" name="this_form" value="http://www.dridpath.com/Create_Design_top.html" />
    <input type="hidden" name="multi_start" value="1" />&quot;
    <input type="hidden" name="next_form" value="http://www.dridpath.com/Templates/order_page.html" />
    <input type="hidden" name="bad_template" value="/Templates/multierror.htm" />
    <input type="hidden" name="bad_url" value="fmbadhandler.php" />
    <input type="hidden" name="multi_keep" value="TotalDesign" />

    This is my setting for the next button:

    <input type="image" img="img" src="images/next.gif" name="submit" alt="Next page" "width="78" height="28" border="0" align="right" value="Next &gt;" />

    I guess you can probably see that. How am I doing this wrong?

    This is how I set tectiteform.php:

    $MULTIFORMDIR = "http://www.dridpath.com/Templates/order_page.html";

    You have no idea how much I appreciate your help.

    Thanks,
    Diane

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: Need help w/ two-page form

    One more thing.....as you can see I currently set the path to the page as "Create_Design_top.html". That's because I did have it as "Create_Design_main.html" but I thought maybe it didn't work because "main" is the page that includes a frame. "Top" is the page that has all the info. The bottom frame is just a blank page for the thumbnail pics to appear in.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: Need help w/ two-page form

    I paid for the Configuration Wizard to do both pages initially. Then I have been through the documentation for setting up multi-page forms a dozen times. It doesn't really explain how to specify the path for "next_page" very well—at least not for me. Also, it says to put the second page of the form in a "templates" directory, but when it shows the path, it excludes a templates directory in the path. I, of course, included it anyway.

    2. Also, does it make any difference to the way the path is specified since my site is being hosted on a Linux server; ie forward slashes or back slashes?

    3. Even though I've put the multierror.htm in the Templates directory and indicated in the path that it could be found there, it doesn't seem to be using it.

    4. And, while clicking the "next" button will not go to page 2 of the form (Page not found error), I still get the emailed results of whatever was entered in this form.

    5. In testing, I put a $ amount in the Total_Design field, but when I got the form results it said there was an error because there was no amount in the Total_Design field. There was!

    God this if frustrating.

    Thanks,
    Diane

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: Need help w/ two-page form

    too many questions at once...

    brain surgeons first have to learn wot a scalpel is before they start cutting into people

    walk first, run later....

    Where do I have the path as http://dridpath.com/Create_Design_main.html?
    in ur post above - that told me u didn't know it was important to be consistent, so thats y i pointed it out as the first issue

    but I thought maybe it didn't work because "main" is the page that includes a frame.
    being in a frame shouldn't matter in the least

    $MULTIFORMDIR = "http://www.dridpath.com/Templates/order_page.html";
    this is wrong for 2 reasons:
    1. MULTIFORMDIR is supposed ot be a server directory not a URL. u specified a URL (starts with http://). if u don't know wot a server directory is, then that's the first thing to understand
    2. MULTIFORMDIR is supposed to be a path to a directory not a document. so u would want "/path/to/document/root/Templates" not "/path/to/document/root/Templates/order_page.html". the value of the "next_form" hidden field specifies the "order_page.html" or whatever document u want.
    if u want to use a URL, u can....use MULTIFORMURL instead - provided ur server isnt badly configured this will work OK, but slower than a directory in MULTIFORMDIR:

    PHP Code:
    $MULTIFORMURL "http://www.dridpath.com/Templates"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: Need help w/ two-page form

    in ur post above - that told me u didn't know it was important to be consistent, so thats y i pointed it out as the first issue
    Yes, Russell, told me I had to be consistent, so I went through and thought I found and changed all the "dridpath"s to "www.dridpath", that's why I asked if you found a "dridpath.com" that I missed.

    I changed $MULTIFORMDIR to:
    $MULTIFORMDIR = "/Templates";
    Is this correct?

    I apologize for so many questions. I've been at this for over two weeks, actually closer to three, and I'm under a time crunch to get it done. I'm supposed to transfer it to the owner's site tomorrow and I don't even have it working on mine yet.

    Diane

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: Need help w/ two-page form

    I changed $MULTIFORMDIR to:
    $MULTIFORMDIR = "/Templates";
    Is this correct?
    No.

    when u got the Wizard dowload, there's a README (from wot i remember)

    in there, there's a URL to do the "testalert" test

    when u do that test, u get an email

    in that email is a DOCUMENT_ROOT and REAL_DOCUMENT_ROOT value

    if ur lucky, there both the same.

    post the values here and i'll tell u wot to set $MULTIFORMDIR to.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: Need help w/ two-page form

    Yes, I did do the test and it was the same document root that GoDaddy gave me. It is:

    /home/content/d/r/i/dridpath/html

    Sorry, I'm a complete idiot with scripts.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. email address in HTML form page
    By ck213 in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-Jul-2005, 07:00 PM
  2. Passing args to new formmail form/page
    By labbs in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18-Apr-2005, 07:24 PM
  3. Sample Multi-Page Form
    By russellr in forum FormMail
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18-Apr-2005, 03:18 AM
  4. Return All Variables To Form Page On Error
    By cornernote in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 31-Oct-2004, 09:20 PM
  5. Submitted form output onto HTML page?
    By LKimber in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-Apr-2004, 10:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •