Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Reloading Form Data after Verification Error - Data Lost

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Reloading Form Data after Verification Error - Data Lost

    We have been using FormMail for quite some time now but one thing has always bugged me and I havenít been able to get it to work. I have ignored it up until now. I really would like to get this to work. We are using FormMail 8.24 and BadHandler 1.21

    We have a Contact Us Form (index.php) that works great except for one thing.

    If the user doesnít type the correct value into the Verification Field (CAPTCHA) he is sent to a custom error page using bad_template. The custom error page displays the error condition and a link to return back to the form via badhandler.php is added to the page with all the variables that were on the form. <return_link /> is replaced on the custom error page with what appears to be the correct infor. The link sends them to BadHandler.php with all the variables including the form URL, all the data the user entered and the session id.

    Clicking the link takes us back to the original form but none of the fields that the user entered are filled in. All the data is lost. Any ideas?

    Thanks for your help.

    See Attachment
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: Reloading Form Data after Verification Error - Data Lost

    jsut tested ur form...it worked fine

    i got the fields re-entered after the error

    maybe too much data is causing the problem?

    set PUT_DATA_IN_URL to false so that all the comms between formmail and fmbadhandler happen in the session instead of the url

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Reloading Form Data after Verification Error - Data Lost

    After spending all day I found that we have a JavaScript function (SaveScreenResolutionInCookie) that is called in the main form PHP file. See Below . . .


    SaveScreenResolutionInCookie('http://ContactUs.AdVaTrac.com/Index.php');


    function SaveScreenResolutionInCookie(WebPage)
    {
    setCookieUsingJS('UsersResolution', screen.width +"x"+ screen.height, 30);
    location = WebPage;
    }

    If this function is called the form data does not re-post. If we take this out everything works fine.

    Any ideas?
    Last edited by MB1711; 02-Dec-2010 at 03:18 AM. Reason: typos

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How to Parse data from one Form to another
    By CliqAdam in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-Dec-2004, 12:57 AM
  2. Return All Variables To Form Page On Error
    By cornernote in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 31-Oct-2004, 09:20 PM
  3. Image verification - Version 1.05
    By russellr in forum Other software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-Aug-2004, 05:21 AM
  4. POST form data as well as email
    By zippy in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 24-Jan-2004, 04:29 PM
  5. not seeing form data
    By brownie in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19-Jan-2004, 01:37 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •