Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How do I CAPTCHA existing forms?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default How do I CAPTCHA existing forms?

    I have a couple of forms that are getting beaten up by BOTS. Deleting their spam submissions each day has finally driven me to do something about it.

    Uploaded onto my server are the two files, verifyimg.php and verifytest.php.

    These have been tested and work fine.

    Next, I have added the recommended code onto one of my forms that displays the image and also a text box with the name "imgverify".

    The instructions then state that I should configure REQUIRE_CAPCHA in my formmail.php file. This file, BTW, has been upgraded to v8.24.

    Where are the instructions for using REQUIRE_CAPCHA? I clicked on the link and it simply says to "Set REQUIRE_CAPTCHA to a non-empty string to ensure that CAPTCHA is required for all form submissions."

    The example provided is:

    "$REQUIRE_CAPTCHA = "Please enter the image characters";"

    Huh?

    Do I enter exactly what is shown above, or ???.

    The instructions leave me scratching my head.

    Can someone please direct me further on this?

    Thanks.

    Webbiz

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: How do I CAPTCHA existing forms?

    Hi,

    I too have just added the captcha to excisting forms to help cut down on spammers....

    "$REQUIRE_CAPTCHA = "Please enter the image characters";"

    entering text into this string enables the captcha ...what ever you enter here gets displayed in an error message when the letters are not enterd correctly...so you can have it say what ever you want it to say.

    If you enter the wrong letters mine says this

    An error occurred while processing the form .
    The form required some values that you did not seem to provide.
    Please enter the image characters. Use the browsers back button to return to the form.
    Im in the process of making that a litlle bit fancier but have just got the forms to work as i want...well almost...just cant get the image reload to work in fiefox *sigh
    Hope that helps.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: How do I CAPTCHA existing forms?

    That was what confused me.

    I thought "Please enter the image characters";" were instructions for me to enter the characters, and I could not figure out how I was suppose to know what those characters were to hard code them in the script.

    Thanks for clearing this up for me. Now I know that this is the instruction that is provided when an ERROR occurs for not entering characters correctly.

    It's working now, though it is sure ugly. Also, using the BACK is not enough. You have to also REFRESH the page. For now, I've stated this in the error message. But there should be a more elegant way to do this.

    Thanks again for your help.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: How do I CAPTCHA existing forms?

    Hi...have a look at " fmbadhandler.php" here

    Code:
    http://www.tectite.com/fmhowto/adverror.php
    This is my next project to get the error page nicer and get the user back to the form.....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: How do I CAPTCHA existing forms?

    Thanks again.

    That page customization worked perfectly.

    I have created a customer ERROR PAGE with my logo, and it provides a return link automatically to the form retaining the original values.

    Works great!


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,980

    Default Re: How do I CAPTCHA existing forms?

    Hi,

    Im in the process of making that a litlle bit fancier but have just got the forms to work as i want...well almost...just cant get the image reload to work in fiefox *sigh
    Hope that helps.....
    This sample has JavaScript code that work in Firefox and IE:
    http://www.tectite.com/public_downlo...eimgverify.zip
    Russell Robinson - Author of Tectite FormMail and FormMailDecoder
    http://www.tectite.com/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,980

    Default Re: How do I CAPTCHA existing forms?

    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by Webbiz View Post
    Where are the instructions for using REQUIRE_CAPCHA? I clicked on the link and it simply says to "Set REQUIRE_CAPTCHA to a non-empty string to ensure that CAPTCHA is required for all form submissions."

    The example provided is:

    "$REQUIRE_CAPTCHA = "Please enter the image characters";"

    Huh?

    Do I enter exactly what is shown above, or ???.

    The instructions leave me scratching my head.

    Can someone please direct me further on this?
    That page also says:
    To enforce CAPTCHA, you set REQUIRE_CAPTCHA to a string that will be displayed to the user if they don't provide the "imgverify" field.
    I'm not sure how much clearer the instructions can be.

    Perhaps you can suggest some wording that will be easier for everyone to understand?
    Russell Robinson - Author of Tectite FormMail and FormMailDecoder
    http://www.tectite.com/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: How do I CAPTCHA existing forms?

    Thanks russellr,

    i was missing the id="vimg" in my code !! was able to get it going with the help of "crabtree"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Multi Page Forms
    By eenkopjekoffie in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-Nov-2005, 06:47 AM
  2. Multipage forms, going back and subsequently losing data!
    By Martinjgriffiths in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31-Jul-2005, 09:01 PM
  3. Multi-page Forms and $MULTIFORMDIR or $MULTIFORMURL
    By mga in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-May-2005, 11:06 AM
  4. Multi-forms and certain conditions
    By Chrisanna in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-May-2005, 08:32 PM
  5. Attaching Files from forms
    By Chek in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14-Dec-2004, 10:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •