Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help with zip code field?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    28

    Default Help with zip code field?

    i've got everything working great in my form. Was getting close to unveiling it to my customer and I realized that the form is stripping "0" (zeros) off the first number in my zip codes. Obviously, it only applies to those zips that begin with zero, but there are plenty.

    Anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Bob

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Help with zip code field?

    Ran across this setting while trying to fix my own problems and I remembered seeing your question. No idea if you've checked into it already (or if it'll even work) but have you looked at the ZERO_IS_EMPTY setting in formmail? Here's the help page:

    http://www.tectite.com/fmdoc/zero_is_empty.php

    According to the documentation, it shouldn't be what's causing your problem, but I figured it's something you could at least try?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: Help with zip code field?

    Thanks for your advice. Actually, I think the "0"s are removed by excel not by the form...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Help with zip code field?

    If you save your form to Excel .CSV then the leading zeros are stripped.

    Open your excel file by right clicking with your mouse and select "open With" Then select Notepad. You will see in your notepad the leading zeros are intact.

    In excel when you open this file you will need to make the zip code or in our instance the phone number a "Text Field" to keep the leading zeros intact. However when you receive the form via email you shouldn't have any problems with the leading zero.

    Hope that helps.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: Help with zip code field?

    my customer asked if I would make the zip code field a "text" field. how do I do this?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Help with zip code field?

    I'm a little confused, are you talking about how the customer receives the information via email? Or the CSV file left on the server?

    The email should display with the Zero intact.

    The CSV file will need to be opened correctly in excel to keep the leading zero. It's up to the customer to open the file from the server. Doesn't have anything to do with the script it's self. Try saving as TXT then open with the Excel Wizard.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Can "Reply To" EM Field be set to email field
    By CWD in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-Jul-2005, 04:56 AM
  2. Sample Conditions Code
    By railer in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14-May-2005, 04:01 PM
  3. secure code foronline payement
    By EPierre in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22-Feb-2005, 03:20 AM
  4. new code for multiple checkboxes
    By nevdev in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15-Jan-2005, 10:39 PM
  5. HMTL code error
    By Allen in forum FormMail Subscription Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-Sep-2004, 05:44 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •