Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Variable "thank you" message - is it possible?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    18

    Question Variable "thank you" message - is it possible?

    I have a dropdown menu in the form, with let's say, options X, Y and Z.

    And then when the form is submitted, the person is supposed to get an automatic "thank you" email to confirm the form was submitted.

    I'd like X, Y or Z to appear in the email's text, depending on which the submitter had chosen.

    Is this possible with form mail?

    I was thinking, maybe to somehow have three different "thank you" email messages, and that a different one gets sent on autorespond depending on which option was chosen in the menu?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: Variable "thank you" message - is it possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by teapot View Post
    I have a dropdown menu in the form, with let's say, options X, Y and Z.

    And then when the form is submitted, the person is supposed to get an automatic "thank you" email to confirm the form was submitted.

    I'd like X, Y or Z to appear in the email's text, depending on which the submitter had chosen.

    Is this possible with form mail?
    yep, formmail can do auto responses, and u create a template for that - check the how to guides

    the template can pull in field values from the form


    I was thinking, maybe to somehow have three different "thank you" email messages, and that a different one gets sent on autorespond depending on which option was chosen in the menu?
    that's a different question - switching the autoresponse template depending on a field answer is possible, but can be tricky

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    45

    Default Re: Variable "thank you" message - is it possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by crabtree View Post
    yep, formmail can do auto responses, and u create a template for that - check the how to guides

    the template can pull in field values from the form



    that's a different question - switching the autoresponse template depending on a field answer is possible, but can be tricky
    In one form I use JavaScript in the middle of the form to create the good_url field viz:-

    <script language="javascript">
    var string1 = value1;
    var string2 = value2;
    var urlstring = "http://www.mysite.com/thankyou.php?abc=";
    urlstring = urlstring + string1 + '&def=' + string2;
    document.write('<input type="hidden" name="good_url" value="');
    document.write(urlstring);
    document.write('" />');
    </script>


    "value1" and "value2" are picked from other parts of the form.

    Hope that works for you.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Message stating "Unable to create check file"
    By mcrider in forum Community Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-Oct-2010, 05:11 PM
  2. Getting message: "An error occurred while processing the form"
    By Bassman1956 in forum Community Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27-May-2010, 03:48 AM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 26-Feb-2010, 12:33 PM
  4. Email error message - "no_valid_recipients"
    By Mickyboy in forum Community Support
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 05-Sep-2009, 05:47 AM
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 15-Oct-2008, 08:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •