Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: $require_captcha problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default $require_captcha problems

    I'm trying to set up recaptcha in PHP using formmail as the forms processor. I have both public and private keys set up. In the form, I'm using the direct javascript link ("without plugins") as opposed to the PHP script. I have the derived field "img_verify" included. I have both a recaptchalib and verify.php in the root web folder with the other PHP files.

    In formmail, I have the private key set up, and a string for $require_captcha. Whenever I fill out the form, no matter what i fill in to recaptcha (even if it's correct or blank) it kicks back that the information is missiing.

    It's as if formmail isn't seeing the information, or there's a communications problem somewhere.

    Please help.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: $require_captcha problems

    did u follow the HOW TO guide:
    http://www.tectite.com/fmhowto/recaptcha.php


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: $require_captcha problems

    Quote Originally Posted by crabtree View Post
    did u follow the HOW TO guide:
    http://www.tectite.com/fmhowto/recaptcha.php
    Yes, although it seems incomplete. I wonder if it has something to do with deriving the imgverify field. Does this need to be customized in any way?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: $require_captcha problems

    wot's incomplete about it?

    i think if u start at the top with a fresh working copy of formmail and follow the instructions it will work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: $require_captcha problems

    Quote Originally Posted by crabtree View Post
    wot's incomplete about it?

    i think if u start at the top with a fresh working copy of formmail and follow the instructions it will work.
    Ok, I can start over in the morning. I just think that, in terms of verification, there's some piece of information that's missing both from Google's Recaptcha site and from the tectite site. Our formail is pretty vanilla otherwise, so I doubt it's specific to what we're doing. It's probably really simple, but I don't see it.

    I'll let you know, thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: $require_captcha problems

    Quote Originally Posted by jr_greene View Post
    Ok, I can start over in the morning. I just think that, in terms of verification, there's some piece of information that's missing both from Google's Recaptcha site and from the tectite site. Our formail is pretty vanilla otherwise, so I doubt it's specific to what we're doing. It's probably really simple, but I don't see it.

    I'll let you know, thanks.
    Started with a fresh copy of formmail--still kicking back with the $require_captcha field

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: $require_captcha problems

    wot's the URL for ur form?

    have u also double-checked u put the private key correctly in formail's config?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: $require_captcha problems

    http://www.providencepoint.org/index.php?id=78.

    I see two locations for the private key, at the beginning of the file and below the line recaptchaprocessor=null.

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,224

    Default Re: $require_captcha problems

    Quote Originally Posted by jr_greene View Post
    I see two locations for the private key, at the beginning of the file and below the line recaptchaprocessor=null.
    that will probly explain the problem....

    there's only one place to put the private key - in Formmail's configuration section. The context is this, and it's around line 434 in version 8.33:
    PHP Code:
        /* Help: http://www.tectite.com/fmdoc/recaptcha_private_key.php */
    $RECAPTCHA_PRIVATE_KEY ""
    i'm sure the how to guide doesnt say to make the change anywhere else.

    if u changed things elsewhere, u corrupted the formmail logic and it wont work

    so, u need a fresh copy again and make sure u only change things inside the config sectio

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: $require_captcha problems

    I started with a fresh copy, and put the private key in only one place, in the configuration section ($recaptcha_private_key=). I'm right back where I started--everything kicks it back to the error screen.

    Thanks

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. PLEASE HELP! Frustrated but think Require_Captcha is culprit
    By Caricature Shop in forum Community Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 24-Jan-2010, 01:55 PM
  2. Require_captcha
    By MacMajor in forum Community Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-Nov-2009, 10:00 PM
  3. Require_Captcha in php doesn't work
    By Reesa in forum Bug Reports
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-Jan-2009, 01:25 AM
  4. Require_Captcha in php doesn't work
    By Reesa in forum Community Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-Jan-2009, 11:37 PM
  5. REQUIRE_CAPTCHA setting problem in 8.10
    By dmarion in forum Community Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25-Nov-2008, 05:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •