Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: fmbadhandler error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    35

    Default fmbadhandler error

    Hi, this is embarrasing and frustating!!! I have spent last 4 hours trying to get the fmbadhandler with error template working to no avail. I read all threads in the formmail support forum that related to my problem but I am afraid my brain simply not for php stuff

    In the formmail I have TEMPLATEDIR (line 2881) set to :
    $TEMPLATEDIR = "public_html/clients";

    In fmbadhandler.php i have:
    $TARGET_URLS = array("http://clients.lotusseeds.com/");
    $TEMPLATEDIR = "public_html/clients";

    In my form I have:
    <input type="hidden" name="bad_url" value="http://clients.lotusseeds.com/fmbadhandler.php" />
    <input type="hidden" name="bad_template" value="formerrors.html" />
    <input type="hidden" name="this_form" value="contactus1.html" />
    <input type="hidden" name="good_url" value="http://clients.lotusseeds.com/confirmation.html"</div>
    <!-- confirmation.html is working when the form is successfully submitted however the submitted info showed exactly the same as this: Your name:$realname. I decided to delete the info as at this moment it's not critical --!>

    Right now I am using your error template for testing, not sure if it causes conflict with my form though.

    My form is here:
    <http://clients.lotusseeds.com>

    When a required field isn't entered, I get this message in the browser address bar:
    http://clients.lotusseeds.com/fmbadh...ent=&x=68&y=14

    Thank you in adcanced for you assistance, if this is too much a trouble for you to answer, I am more than willing to pay for your time to solve the problem as I really love your script and greatly appreciate you offer it for free.

    Sincerely,

    tee

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,980

    Default Re: fmbadhandler error

    Hi,

    The very first thing to do is to make sure you have valid HTML.

    You have this:
    Code:
    <input type="hidden" name="good_url" value="<A href="http://clients.lotusseeds.com/confirmation.html"</div">http://clients.lotusseeds.com/confirmation.html"</div>
    That's wrong. It should be something like this:
    Code:
    <input type="hidden" name="good_url" value="<A href="http://clients.lotusseeds.com/confirmation.html" />">http://clients.lotusseeds.com/confirmation.html" />
    </div>
    That may not be the problem, but it's hard to know what's wrong when the HTML is faulty.

    I recommend you use the HTML validator from the W3C (http://validator.w3.org/)

    Once your HTML is right, please let me know if you're still having problems.
    Russell Robinson - Author of Tectite FormMail and FormMailDecoder
    http://www.tectite.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: fmbadhandler error

    Hi Russell, thanks for the reminder, I got the validation errors fixed except one attribute that the xhtml strict doens't support :
    <option value="Australia" name="from_which_country[]">Australia</option>
    It is the [] that you asked me to put for multi-selection. I may change this page to transitional.

    Fixing the errors in my page however doens't solve the problem. Realized I had my directory set incorrectly and have correctly, still I am getting the similar messsage

    first of all, formmail is working fine and when a form is submitted, a confiramtion page is working.

    Below are the setting I have for formmail.php, fmbadhandler.php and my form page.

    for fmbadhandle.php (line 236)
    1. $TEMPLATEDIR = "/home/lotussee/public_html/clients/fmtemplates";

    for formail.php (line 2881)
    2. $TEMPLATEDIR = "/home/lotussee/public_html/clients/fmtemplates";

    3. fmtemplages permission set to 711 (rwx--x--x)
    4. formerrors.html is 644 (rww--r--r) by default

    in my form:
    <input type="hidden" name="bad_url" value="http://clients.lotusseeds.com/fmbadhandler.php" />

    <input type="hidden" name="bad_template" value="formerrors.html" />

    <input type="hidden" name="this_form" value="contactus1.html" />

    when a required field is not entered, my browser shows me this message:

    Not Acceptable
    An appropriate representation of the requested resource /fmbadhandler.php could not be found on this server.
    Apache/1.3.33 Server at clients.lotusseeds.com Port 80


    and the full error message in address bar:

    /clients.mydomain.com/fmbadhandler.php?this_form=contactus1.html&bad_template=formerrors.html&error=The+form+required+some+values+that+you+did+not+seem+to+provide.+%5BM87%5D&extra=Last+Name%0ATitle%0AOrganization%0AWork+Phone%0AEmail%0A&errcode=missing_fields&isusererror=1&alerted=1&erroritem1=Last+Name&erroritem2=Title&erroritem3=Organization&erroritem4=Work+Phone&erroritem5=Email&firstname=1&lastname=&title=&organization=&workphone=&street_address=&city=&state_province=&zipcode=&country=&how_did_you_hear_about_us=Please+Select&type_of_media=Please+choose&time_frame=Please+Select&comment=&x=77&y=15

    extra information just in case it matter, first I had the
    $TEMPLATEDIR = "/home/lotussee/public_html/clients/"; (without the fm_template folder)

    it didn't work, so I created a 'fmtemplates' folder .
    I also tried to place 'formerrors.htm' file in the 'clients' (my subdomain directory) folder and later moved it to 'fmtemplates' folder. None of the changes seems making differents.

    Thanks again for you help!

    tee

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,980

    Default Re: fmbadhandler error

    Hi,

    /clients.mydomain.com/fmbadhandler.php?this_form=contactus1.html&bad_template=formerrors.html&error=The+form+required+some+values+that+you+did+not+seem+to+provide.+%5BM87%5D&extra=Last+Name%0ATitle%0AOrganization%0AWork+Phone%0AEmail%0A&errcode=missing_fields&isusererror=1&alerted=1&erroritem1=Last+Name&erroritem2=Title&erroritem3=Organization&erroritem4=Work+Phone&erroritem5=Email&firstname=1&lastname=&title=&organization=&workphone=&street_address=&city=&state_province=&zipcode=&country=&how_did_you_hear_about_us=Please+Select&type_of_media=Please+choose&time_frame=Please+Select&comment=&x=77&y=15
    The first part of this looks strange. Shouldn't it be http://clients.lotusseeds.com/fmbadhandler.php?

    I just tried your form and your server is reporting error 406 (Not acceptable).

    I recommend you take a step backwards for a moment.

    Forget fmbadhandler for now, and get your error template working. When FormMail can show that OK, then you can move onto working with fmbadhandler.

    You're getting some strange results and I suspect you have a number of different problems. You'll need to solve them one at a time before you're able to do anything complex.
    Russell Robinson - Author of Tectite FormMail and FormMailDecoder
    http://www.tectite.com/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: fmbadhandler error

    Hi Russell, yes you are right, the first part should be :
    //clients.lotusseeds.com/fmbadhandler.php?
    the reason I changed it was because in my previous post it showed a url instead a full error text.

    When you said get the error template working, do you meant the bad-url or formmail system error page? I will try to work on the bad-url as the later has tested and work fine.

    Thanks again for you precious time!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,980

    Default Re: fmbadhandler error

    Hi,

    What I mean is that you can leave everything as it is and simply remove the "bad_url" field. FormMail will process the bad_template itself.

    When that is working OK, then you can look at proceeding to use FMBadhandler.
    Russell Robinson - Author of Tectite FormMail and FormMailDecoder
    http://www.tectite.com/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: fmbadhandler error

    >FormMail will process the bad_template itself.


    Well, this part has already been taken care
    It is in other page
    <http://clients.lotusseeds.com/contactus.html>

    Just a thought, you have such a wonderful form script that you are offering for free (my salute!), will you consider making a generator that novice like me who really doesn't want to muddle with PHP if possible, I am thinking something like <http://phpformgen.sourceforge.net/> or form-to-go <http://www.bebosoft.com/products/formstogo/>Must have Mac version though

    I know if you make a commercial formmail generator I will be the first one to patron, and will recommend many web designer folks to you

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,980

    Default Re: fmbadhandler error

    Hi,

    Well, this part has already been taken care
    It is in other page
    http://clients.lotusseeds.com/contactus.html
    No. That's currently using the default error page.

    You're trying to use FMBadHandler with an error template.

    What I'm suggesting is that you start with the error template without FMBadHandler. When that's working OK, then look at introducing FMBadHandler.

    In other words, take it a step at a time.

    You've got weird things happening and the only way to solve them is one step at a time.

    will you consider making a generator that novice like me who really doesn't want to muddle with PHP if possible
    We actually two plans along these lines. A service that will take an existing HTML form and convert it for use with FormMail, and also a service that performs the configuration of FormMail for you.

    I know if you make a commercial formmail generator I will be the first one to patron,
    Great! What do you think would be a fair price for such a service?
    Russell Robinson - Author of Tectite FormMail and FormMailDecoder
    http://www.tectite.com/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: fmbadhandler error

    Hi Russell, thanks for the advice, I will try that now.

    Also, got a pointer from someone that maybe the reason that is causing my problem; I am going to test it too.

    Thought maybe like to know,I am posting the message here,
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    I took a look at the URL parameters in that big long
    string that shows in the address bar after you
    submitted the form and the one that is very strange is
    the "error" parameter...it's extremely long
    containing:
    "error=The+form+required+some+values+that+you+did+not+seem+to+provide.+%5BM87%5D"

    This seems to be causing the problem. All the other
    parameters only have one concatenation.

    If you shorten it to error=The+form the script works
    perfectly!

    http://clients.lotusseeds.com/fmbadh...ent=&x=57&y=16

    I think this might be a clue! (maybe)

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Great! What do you think would be a fair price for such a service?
    Well, if it allows me to configure all the features formmail currently have, I would think a price like your encryption software is fair. But I am a bit greedy, think if you could add the simple order/culcualtion function to the form script? For example, a website that wants to provide simple order form for customers to use but dosn't involve with cc processing. This feature may even works with your encryption software.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,980

    Default Re: fmbadhandler error

    Hi,

    Yes, the long URL may be the problem.

    To resolve this, the correct solutions is to tell FormMail to use PHP sessions to communicate with FMBadHandler.

    The setting is called "PUT_DATA_IN_URL" and you want it set to false:
    PHP Code:
    define("PUT_DATA_IN_URL",false); 
    Russell Robinson - Author of Tectite FormMail and FormMailDecoder
    http://www.tectite.com/

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. fmbadhandler.php loses field information after error
    By tcgass in forum Community Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-Jan-2008, 08:31 AM
  2. error in fmbadhandler
    By valkyrie in forum Community Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15-Jul-2007, 12:45 PM
  3. Weird FormMail and fmbadhandler error??
    By TracyS in forum Community Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17-Jan-2007, 12:18 PM
  4. fmbadhandler error template with php functionality?
    By Tommy in forum Community Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16-Jan-2007, 09:45 AM
  5. fmbadhandler - placement of return link on error page
    By kitkatdev in forum Community Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14-Jun-2006, 06:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •