Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Force Wrong-Entry CAPTCHA Message Appear in Modal Window

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2

    Question Force Wrong-Entry CAPTCHA Message Appear in Modal Window

    Hi,

    I know this has been asked before, but I was not able to find anything that may help. We have Formmail with CAPTCHA enabled, which is working fine. However when the user mistypes the image characters, he or she is taken to a new blank page with nothing but the error message. The user then has to go back to the form to try again.

    Ideally, it would be more practical to simply have the message appear in the same form, perhaps inline or as a Jquery window.

    Is there any way to accoplish this?

    Thank you, your input will be greatly appreciated.

    Alan.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Rosarito, Mexico
    Posts
    21

    Red face Re: Force Wrong-Entry CAPTCHA Message Appear in Modal Window

    Hi Alan,

    As far as I am aware, there is no option for this currently with formail (it might take some special programming). However, i customize my fmbadhandler page to look like my website.

    If you open your fmbadhandler page - right around line 1300 you'll find this code:

    <?php echo nl2br(htmlspecialchars($sErrorMesg)); ?>
    <?php
    foreach ($aItems as $s_item)
    echo "<li>".htmlspecialchars($s_item)."</li>";
    ?>
    </ul>
    <?php
    if (!$bIsUserError && $bAlerted)
    echo "<p>Our staff have been alerted to the problem. ".
    "We apologize for any inconvenience.</p>";
    if ($bIsUserError)
    echo GetFormLink($sURL);
    ?>

    I have put my customization for the page right on top of and below this code.

    I put all the normal coding for my regular pages in there - see an example below:

    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
    <html>
    <head>
    <title>page name</title>
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=utf-8">
    <meta name="robots" content="NOINDEX,NOFOLLOW">
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="http://mydomain.com/css/style.css" type="text/css">
    </head>
    <body>
    <!-- BEGIN CONTENT 1 -->
    <div id="content1">

    <table width="1000" align="center" class="white">
    <tr><td align="center"><h1>Form ERROR</h1></td></tr>

    <tr><td align="center">
    <!-- BEGIN CONTACT FORM ERRORS -->

    <p style="text-align:center;"><?php echo nl2br(htmlspecialchars($sErrorMesg)); ?></p>
    <ul>
    <?php
    foreach ($aItems as $s_item)
    echo "<li>".htmlspecialchars($s_item)."</li>";
    ?>
    </ul>
    <?php
    if (!$bIsUserError && $bAlerted)
    echo "<p>Our staff have been alerted to the problem. ".
    "We apologize for any inconvenience.</p>";
    if ($bIsUserError)
    echo GetFormLink($sURL);
    ?>
    <!-- END CONTACT FORM ERRORS -->
    </td></tr>
    <tr><td align="center">
    <h2>
    Above are the details of your errors.
    <br>
    Please hit the back button to bo gack to the form, fix your errors, and click "Submit" Again.
    <br><br>
    Thank you!
    </h2>
    </td></tr>

    </table>

    </div>
    <!-- END CONTENT 1 -->

    </body>
    </html>


    This makes the process much more seamless and easier for the user to understand. I hope this helps!

    Dacia

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Open Error message in new Pop-up window/Alert
    By John Timberlake in forum Features Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13-Oct-2012, 07:34 AM
  2. Open Error message in new Pop-up window/Alert
    By John Timberlake in forum Community Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-Oct-2012, 09:46 PM
  3. Wrong email but still receive message
    By muazii in forum Community Support
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-Dec-2011, 01:45 AM
  4. fmbadhandler not showing wrong CAPTCHA
    By ActionAmerica in forum Community Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-Jun-2009, 12:47 PM
  5. Captcha. Informing User of bad entry (option)
    By cbryant in forum Community Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-Mar-2009, 09:41 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •